The 2018 Belmont Stakes run Saturday afternoon with a 6:37 p.m. ET post time. Justify, the clear favorite after winning the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, hopes to become the 13th horse to claim the title of Triple Crown winner in the 150th running of the famed Belmont Stakes in New York.

2018 Belmont Stakes, Justify’s Triple Crown attempt

If you can’t make it to Belmont Park for the third leg of the Triple Crown, you can watch the broadcast on NBC TV or stream it online. Here are all the details you need to watch the Belmont Stakes:

  • Date: Saturday, June 9, 2018
  • Post Time: 6:37 p.m. ET
  • Track: Belmont Park
  • Location: Elmont, N.Y.
  • Online stream: FuboTV (free trial), NBC Sports app (subscription required)
  • TV channel: NBC local station

Track conditions, weather forecast

Belmont Park is a 1.5-mile dirt track, the same type of surface as the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs and the Preakness at Pimlico Race Course. The Belmont is the longest of the three. The weather was wet and the track muddy for both of the previous races in Triple Crown this year.

The current forecast for Saturday in Elmont, on New York’s Long Island, calls for a 50 percent chance of rain and a possible thunderstorm. Justify has thrived in the wet conditions for the previous two races, even in the wake of a flash flood warning in Louisville for the Kentucky Derby.

Horses, post positions, odds

Here is the complete field for the 150th running of the Belmont Stakes, sorted by post order. Horse odds are current as of Saturday morning, via CBS Sports

  1. Justify (4-5)
  2. Free Drop Billy (30-1)
  3. Bravazo (7-1)
  4. Hofburg (9-2)
  5. Restoring Hope (30-1)
  6. Gronkowski (12-1)
  7. Tenfold (12-1)
  8. Vino Rosso (8-1)
  9. Noble Indy (30-1)
  10. Blended Citizen (15-1)

Post position 1 has produced 23 winners, more than any other position at Belmont. Fifteen winners have started from either post position 3 or 5. Justify won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness from Post 7.

What do horse racing odds mean?

In odds listings, the first number is the amount of profit made for a bet in the amount of the second number. For example, 30-1 odds means a $1 bet will pay out $31 – $30 in winnings plus the original $1 bet. For Justify’s 4-5 odds, a $5 bet will win you $4 profit.

Full list of Triple Crown winners

The first winner of Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing was Sir Barton in 1919. There have been 12 horses who have won all three races. The most recent was American Pharoah in 2015. Only 52 horses have ever won more than one race. 

Will Justify become lucky number 13? Here are the Triple Crown winners to date:

  1. Sir Barton, 1919

  2. Gallant Fox, 1930

  3. Omaha, 1935

  4. War Admiral, 1937

  5. Whirlaway, 1941

  6. Count Fleet, 1943

  7. Assault, 1946

  8. Citation, 1948

  9. Secretariat, 1973

  10. Seattle Slew, 1977

  11. Affirmed, 1978

  12. American Pharoah, 2015

© 2018 CBS Interactive Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Article Source