THE Coventry Stakes is the second race on day one of Royal Ascot and we’ve got all the latest news, views and top tips ahead of this year’s renewal.

To get you in the mood for the race – here’s a run-down of the contest.

 Rajasinghe won the 2017 Coventry Stakes


Rajasinghe won the 2017 Coventry Stakes

When is the Coventry Stakes, what TV channel is it on, what’s the distance and which sort of horses can enter?

The 2018 Coventry Stakes will take place on Tuesday, June 19 at 3.05pm and will be live on ITV.

It’s a Group 2 Flat race run over six furlongs for two-year-olds.

The race was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.

Who is running in this year’s race?

  • Advertise
  • Alfie Solomons
  • Barbill
  • Blown By Wind
  • Boa Nova
  • Burj
  • Calyx
  • Cool Exhibit
  • Cosmic Law
  • Dubai Legacy
  • Fox Champion
  • Gee Rex
  • Getchagetchagetcha
  • I Am A Dreamer
  • Indigo Balance
  • Junius Brutus
  • Konchek
  • Kuwait Station
  • Land Force
  • Midnight Sands
  • National Guard
  • Ninetythreetwenty
  • No Needs Never
  • North Wind
  • Pogo
  • Rolling King
  • Secret Venture
  • Semoum
  • Sergei Prokofiev
  • Shaybani
  • Shine So Bright
  • The Irish Rover
  • The Paddocks
  • Van Beethoven
  • Vange

STARTERS ORDERS Fancy going to Royal Ascot? Here’s all you need to know about the meeting

What are the latest odds for this year’s race?

Aidan O’Brien’s Sergei Prokofiev currently heads the market.

The Irish Rover also features prominently in the betting.

Click here for the latest odds with Sun Bets.

Previous Coventry Stakes winners

  • 2017 – Rajasinghe
  • 2016 – Caravaggio
  • 2015 – Buratino
  • 2014 – The Wow Signal
  • 2013 – War Command
  • 2012 – Dawn Approach
  • 2011 – Power
  • 2010 – Strong Suit
  • 2009 – Canford Cliffs
  • 2008 – Art Connoisseur
  • 2007 – Henrythenavigator

Who won the race last year?

Rajasinghe (11-1) won the race for Richard Spencer and Stevie Donohoe.

Headway (33-1) was second with Murillo (8-1) third.

Which jockeys, horses and trainers have won the Coventry Stakes the most? 

Sir Gordon Richards is the leading jockey with nine wins.

Aidan O’Brien is the leading trainer with eight wins, his most recent being 2016 winner Caravaggio.

What are the top tips for the race? 

That’s a very good question! Tips for the race will appear here as soon as we have them from the likes of Templegate and Matt Chapman.

Royal Wedding procession horse goes off course on The Long Walk nearly bumping into police and security


Article Source